Louisiana’s No Pay / No Play statute, provides that an owner or operator of a motor vehicle who fails to own or maintain compulsory motor vehicle liability security can not recover for the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages and for the first $25,000 of property damage caused by a motor vehicle accident, unless the driver of the other vehicle:
(i) Is cited for a violation of R.S. 14:98 (DWI/DUI) as a result of the accident and is subsequently convicted of or pleads nolo contendere to such offense.
(ii) Intentionally causes the accident.
(iii) Flees from the scene of the accident.
(iv) At the time of the accident, is in furtherance of the commission of a felony offense.
If you have questions about Louisiana’s No Pay / No Play law, contact the experienced Baton Rouge, Louisiana car wreck attorneys at Dué Guidry Piedrahita Andrews Courrege L.C. to schedule a free consultation.