Effective January 1, 2010, new minimum liability limits of 15-30-25 for automobile insurance will go into effect in the State of Louisiana. The minimum limits are currently 10-20-10. For auto insurance policies issued after January 1, 2010, victims of Louisiana car wrecks will have at least $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident in available bodily injury liability insurance available to compensate them for the injuries and damages caused by a Louisiana insured driver. Under Louisiana law, insurers are also required to offer underinsured and uninsured (UM) motorist bodily injury liability coverage to their insureds in the same amount as the bodily injury liability insurance.
Prior to the change in Louisiana law, Louisiana was one of only two states in the United States with minimum automobile bodily injury liability limits of 10-20-10, with the 48 other states having higher liability limits. Even with the improvement in Louisiana law, Louisiana is still one of only nine states with 15-30 or less in bodily injury liability limits. Texas, Mississippi and Arkansas all have minimum automobile bodily injury liability limits of 25-50-25. Hopefully, the Louisiana Legislature and Governor will see fit one day to place Louisiana accident victims on the same level of financial protection as the accident victims in our neighboring states. Until then, Louisiana will continue to rank at or near the bottom of yet another national list.
If you or a loved one was seriously injured or suffered a wrongful death by a Louisiana insured driver, contact the experienced Baton Rouge, Louisiana car wreck lawyers at Dué Guidry Piedrahita Andrews Courrege L.C.. Email Louisiana injury lawyers or call (225) 929-7481 to schedule a free consultation.